V.A. – Why Be Blake When You Can Be Bleak? – The Bleak Compilation [bleak029] (2010)

Posted on Nov 1, 2010


“Why be Blake when you can be Bleak?” is a compilation featuring not only netlabel artists, but also contributions from renowned artists from the Industrial/Experimental genres, and plain legends from the early 80’s Industrial scene.

The compilation strives to provide a “cause and effect” overview of Avantgarde art, especially from the viewpoint of Industrial/Experimental and Electronic music.
All artists have agreed to provide their tracks for free download, which is very uncommon these days, given the fact that non-mainstream artists probably suffer the most from illegal file sharing, and usually hesitate to give away albums for free.

The result is a download package in the size of a 3CD-compilation, containing early unreleased tracks as well as exclusive versions of new material.
The list of contributing artists is a mixture of Industrial dinosaurs and young or new obscure artists from all over the world.

Proving that original, or “old school” Industrial is still as influential and exciting as it has been since the very beginning in the late 70’s and early 80’s, The Bleak Compilation continues the tradition of compilations like “The Elephant Table Sampler”, “Three Minute Symphony” or “Ohrenschrauben/Ohrensausen”, presenting a mixture of difficult, at times disturbing and confusing music, totally apart from any mainstream intentions.

The painting on the cover is by Jonathan Canady, an american musician and artist, whose work is so close to what Bleak stands for that we couldn’t resist asking him, and we are happy he agreed!

The list of artists who agreed to contribute is nothing less than amazing:

Dead Letters Spell Out Dead Words, Konstruktivists, Attrition, Mushy, Cultural Amnesia, SLEEPCHAMBER, The On/Off Corporation, Wave Tank, John Zewizz, Perikomo, Josco, Das Fleisch, FRzO, MRT, Portion Control, The Altai Chamber Orchestra, Coil, Choronzon, r.A.C.K, Cultural Amnesia, Red Chamber, Bath feat. OROBL, 53, Nocturnal Emissions, Background Projection, Paluch Y, Josco, Critical Theatre, Pure, Josef Nadek, Job Karma, Firnwald, Sean Derrick Cooper Marquardt, Cezary Gapik, Stormhat, Dr. Nachtstrom

We hope that with this compilation we also draw attention to our own Bleak artists, who deserve to be presented to a wider audience.

Bleak would like to thank everyone involved.


1 Dead Letters Spell Out Dead Words Sunshine, Lollipops & Rainbows
2 Konstruktivists Thrice Is Just As Nice
3 Attrition The Internal Narrator (Alternate Version)
4 Mushy Le Ultime Ore
5 Cultural Amnesia Little Blue Grains
6 SLEEPCHAMBER Into The Crypt (Alternate Version)
7 The On/Off Corporation Think Dark
8 Wave Tank Let’s Go (Get Cruel)
9 John Zewizz 2012 (Inner-X-Musick Mix)
10 Perikomo Keskitalvi
11 Josco Proboszczewice
12 Das Fleisch The Final Beauty
13 FRzO Sinkhole
14 Mrt Forest
15 Portion Control Sex Drive
16 The Altai Chamber Orchestra Law (International Audio Losers Version)
17 Coil Manifesto
Producer [Extra Production] – Arno Peeters
18 Choronzon Formula
19 r.A.C.K Pvnished – As We Shovld Be
20 Cultural Amnesia Brand New Day
21 Red.Chamber Coming Forth By Night
22 Bath feat. OROBL Pooled OX
23 53 The Art Of Self Deceit
24 Nocturnal Emissions feat. Mrs. Ayers Revolutionary Industrial Trance
25 Paluch Y Maldoror Is Ded Ded Ded
26 Background Projection Labioveral Ectoplasm
27 Josco Denial/Realisation
28 Critical Theatre Robot Flesh
29 Pure feat. Alexandra Von Bolz´n Mladost
30 Josef Nadek Carrion Angel, Sing Me A Song
31 Job Karma Hydroxizinum City 2
32 Firnwald feat. Red.Chamber Invasion (Firnwald Remix)
33 Sean Derrick Cooper Marquardt The Benefits Of Being A Burrnesha
34 Cezary Gapik #466
35 Stormhat I Den Polykrome Gnusgrav
36 Dr. Nachtstrom The Second Coming


Artwork By – Jonathan Canady
Compiled By – Bernhard Hansbauer
Liner Notes – Bernhard Hansbauer



Posted in: Music